Hello my name is Allan Fear and I have the privilege of being Chair of the school Governing Body.  I have the fortune to lead a team of dedicated, skilled and committed governors whose function is to support and assist the school in ensuring that in our role as ' critical friend ' we can ensure that the desire of all to provide a excellent quality of education that values the individual child in a safe, caring and spiritual environment is met.


I have spent the last 40 years working in primary education as teacher, headteacher,  teacher educator and school inspector primarily working at the local university.  My love of primary education and the desire to provide the best for our children is matched by all your governors and school staff.  Rarely have I met such a dedicated school staff committed to ensuring the best for their pupils through professionalism and self evaluation and a strong love for the pupils and the school.


Needless to say we are lucky to have such wonderful children at our school and for that I thank you as parents. In this partnership of children, parents, school staff and governors we endeavour to ensure that only the best is good enough.


 Governors of St. Mary's Primary School

Type of Governor

Name of Governor

Foundation Governor  Chair

Mr A Fear

Foundation Governor  Vice-chair

Mrs J Stanford

Foundation Governor

Mr A Quinn

Foundation Governor

Mr D Champs

Foundation Governor

Mrs A Alonzi

Foundation Governor

Mrs P Tempest

Foundation Governor

Dr J Abbey

Foundation Governor

Mr P Durkin

Foundation Governor

Mr M Wiltshire


Mrs D Evans

Teacher Governor

Miss J Thomas

Staff Governor

Mr D Richardson

Parent Governor

Mrs M Lewis

Parent Governor

Mr M Doverman

LEA Representative

Cllr D Fouweather

LEA Representative

Cllr C Ferris


Mr P Lambert