What Will Your Child Learn?

Beth Fydd Eich Plentyn yn ei Ddysgu?

We work hard to ensure that all children are given a wide range of experiences during their time at St. Mary’s R.C. Primary School. We offer a curriculum which is broad, balanced and differentiated to meet individual needs and abilities.

The Second Vatican Council declared that it is the religious dimension that makes the Catholic school distinctive. This is to be found in:

a) the educational climate;

b) the personal development of each student,;

c) the relationship established between culture and the Gospel;

d) the illumination of all knowledge with the light of faith.


The curriculum, in all its aspects, must reflect the fact that the person of Christ, and the message, which the Church has received from Him, is the foundation of the whole educational enterprise in a Catholic school. This must be known and understood by all connected to the school.

'The Religious Dimension of Education in a Catholic School.'

 The Sacred Congregation for Catholic Education, Rome. 1988.


St. Mary’s staff and governors strive to ensure that the religious dimension of the school permeates all aspects of school life. The curriculum is intended to promote the spiritual, moral, cultural, academic, emotional and physical development of the children at the school. It must prepare children for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life in the twenty-first century.

The curriculum is driven by the Mission Statement and Aims.

The Primary Phase is split into 2 phases of education: Foundation Phase (Reception – Year 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 - 6). 

Foundation Phase – Reception to Year 2

The Foundation Phase (FP) places great emphasis on learning by doing. Children are given many opportunities to gain first hand experiences through play and active involvement. Much of their learning takes place through structured learning activities.

The statutory Areas of Learning in the Foundation Phase are:

  • Personal and Social Development, Well-Being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

As a Catholic School Religious Education (R.E.) is also a core subject in the Foundation Phase.

Information Communication Technology is taught through all areas of learning.

Key Stage 2 – Year 3 to 6

The National Curriculum identifies three core subjects: English, Mathematics and Science. There are also eight foundation subjects: Welsh 2nd Language; Information and Communication Technology (ICT); Design and Technology (D&T); History; Geography; Art and Design; Music and Physical Education (PE).  As a Catholic School Religious Education (RE) is also a core subject.

Personal and Social Education (PSE) is also taught cross Key Stage 2. PSE relates to everything that a school does to support and promote the personal and social development and well-being of its learners.

At St. Mary’s we implement ‘thematic approaches’ to learning across the primary phase. This means that many subjects/areas of learning are linked together across a common theme. This approach makes learning more interesting and purposeful for learners, and gives an emphasis to skills development. Subjects/areas of Learning/programmes of study that do not link to the theme are taught discretely, e.g. Welsh, RE and games.

We believe that learners need to be fully aware of their own learning progress and the next steps for their improvement.  We plan exciting learning experiences that engender curiosity and questions in our learners and encourage them to make independent choices. Learning and teaching is enhanced through real life experiences for the learners. This includes educational visits to places of interest, and visitors to school sharing their experiences.

National Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF)

Literacy and numeracy skills are essential in order for young people to reach their potential. The National Literacy and Numeracy Framework has been developed to help achieve the Welsh Government’s aim that the children of Wales are able to develop excellent literacy and numeracy skills during their time at school. Expectations for literacy and numeracy are given for each school year group

At St. Mary’s, the LNF is at the heart of the curriculum planning, ensuring the embedding of literacy and numeracy across the curriculum.